TCSA - March 8, 2022

  1. Minutes

Community Service Award Select Committee

  Organizational Meeting

   March 8, 2022

The Select Committee for the Titusville Community Service Award held an organizational meeting on Tuesday, March 8, 2022, in the Council Chamber on the 2nd floor of City Hall, 555 South Washington Avenue, Titusville, Florida.

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairperson Herman Cole, Jr. In attendance were Chairperson Herman Cole, Jr., appointed by Mayor Diesel with the approval of City Council; Member Elliot Torres, appointed by the Chamber of Commerce; Member Daniel Penton, appointed the School Board District 1 appointee. Member Barry Russell, the ministerial representative, appointed by Mayor Diesel with the approval of City Council, was absent. 

The first official order of business was to solicit an appointment for Vice-Chairperson. Member Torres agreed to serve as the Vice-Chairperson of the committee. 

Member Penton moved to appoint Member Torres as the Vice-Chairperson of the Titusville Community Service Award Select Committee 2021. 

The motion carried unanimously.

The committee reviewed and discussed the agenda packet items that each member had received prior to the meeting. With consensus from the group, no changes were made to the letters to be sent to organizations, churches, and schools.

The next item of business was to select a deadline to receive nominations and to also select a date for the Committee’s next meeting to select a recipient of the Community Service Award. The Committee came to a consensus making Monday, May 2, 2022 the final day to accept nominations from the public and made Wednesday, May 11, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. the date of their next meeting.

Staff Liaison Campbell reminded the committee members to come to the next meeting with their top two or three favorite nominees in mind to make the selection process go more smoothly and to also save the date for the Flag Day Ceremony on Monday, June 14th.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 10:16 a.m.