Special City Council - November 24, 2020 11:00 AM

  1. Minutes

City Council

Organizational Meeting

November 24, 2020


The City Council of the City of Titusville, Florida met in special session in the Council Chamber of City Hall, 555 South Washington Avenue, on Tuesday, November 24, 2020.


Mayor Daniel Diesel called the meeting to order at 11:04 a.m. Present were Mayor Daniel Diesel and City Council Members Robert Jordan, Jo Lynn Nelson, Joe Robinson, and Sarah Stoeckel. Also in attendance were City Manager Scott Larese, City Attorney Richard Broome, and Assistant City Clerk Donhoff, who completed the minutes of the meeting.


Swearing in of newly Elected Mayor and Council Members - City Attorney Broome individually administered the oath of office to City Council Members Dr. Sarah Stoeckel (re-elected) and Joe C. Robinson (newly elected), as well as Mayor Daniel E. Diesel, who previously held a different seat on the Council, but who was elected (unopposed) as Mayor during the recent election cycle.



Mayor Diesel called for a 5-minute recess.


Selection of a Vice-Mayor – Mayor Diesel requested nominations from the Council, to which Member Robinson nominated Member Nelson. Member Nelson advised that the decision might be made by the Mayor, for reasons she reviewed. Mayor Diesel expressed his confidence in each of the Council members; however, he supported Member Robinson’s nomination of Member Nelson.


Stan Johnston submitted a public speaking card. He expressed his dissatisfaction with the City and requested resignations of City officials. Mr. Johnston also requested designating Council Member Robinson to serve as the Vice-Mayor.


There were no other nominations. The consensus of Council was to designate Member Jo Lynn Nelson to serve as the Vice-Mayor. Immediately thereafter, Council members sat in a new particular seating order on the dais. 

Designation of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA) – Mayor Diesel supported the City Council Mayor and Vice-Mayor to fill the roles of CRA Chair and Vice-Chair.

Stan Johnston submitted a public speaking card. He commented on his perceived concerns for an unfunded financial liability related to Other Post-Employment Benefits (OPEB) and how his concerns related to the request at hand. Additionally, he requested the resignations of City officials.



Member Jordan moved to have the City Council Mayor and Vice-Mayor respectively fill the roles of the Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA) Chair and Vice-Chair. Member Stoeckel seconded the motion and the roll call vote was:


Member Jordan                       Yes

Vice-Mayor Nelson                Yes

Member Robinson                  Yes

Mayor Diesel                          Yes

Member Stoeckel                    Yes


The motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment – Stan Johnston expressed his concerns on his perception of lies and corruption in the City. He read from a prepared statement that reviewed his concerns.


Pete Petyk congratulated the newly elected and re-elected Council Members and thanked them for their service.


With no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.


Daniel E. Diesel, Mayor


Wanda F. Wells, City Clerk