News Flash


Posted on: January 10, 2022

Astronaut Memorial Saturday Jan. 29th Sand Point Park, Titusville

Astronaut Memorial

TITUSVILLE, FLORIDA–The annual Astronaut Memorial Ceremony for the 17 crew members of Apollo 1, Challenger and Columbia who perished in America’s space program will be conducted Saturday, Jan. 29, 11 am at Sand Point Park in Titusville, Florida.

Shuttle astronaut and space-walker Winston Scott will be the keynote speaker. The public is invited to attend this reverent and patriotic ceremony that honors the lives and sacrifice made by these pioneers NASA’s manned space program.

The event will be broadcast on the social media platforms of Facebook Live, YouTube, Twitch, with audio podcasts live on Google, Spotify and Apple. 

The ceremony includes a keynote address, patriotic songs, a host of city and county dignitaries, participation from the Knights of Columbus, the Civil Air Patrol, a 21-gun salute and placement of flowers on the 17 plaques at the park honoring the fallen space travelers.

The beautiful program is hosted by the City of Titusville Flag & Memorial Committee and the American Space Museum. The Titusville Garden Club provides the flowers for this honorable ceremony.

Winston Scott was a mission specialist testing spacesuits and spacewalking techniques on two Space Shuttle missions, Endeavor and STS-72 in 1996 and Columbia and STS-87 in 1997. He has spent 24 days, including three spacewalks totaling 20 hours.  Scott, 71, has been a leader in education and the civil rights movement, and is special assistant to the president at the Florida Institute of Technology in Melbourne. He is an accomplished jazz trumpet player, frequently playing with a band. 

Those astronauts being remembered and the day they gave their ultimate sacrifice for America are:

  • Apollo 1, Jan. 27, 1967; Virgil “Gus” Grissom, Ed White Jr. and Roger Chaffee.
  • Challenger STS-51L, Jan. 28, 1986; Richard Scoby, Michael Smith, Judy Resnick, Ellison Onizuka, Gregory Jarvis and Ronald McNair.
  • Columbia STS-107, Feb. 1, 2003, Richard Husband, Willie McCool, Daniel Brown, Laurel Clark, Kalpana Chawla, Michael Anderson and Ilan Ramon of Israel.

An informal reception will be afterward at the American Space Museum in Downtown Titusville. Admission will be free.

The community is invited and encouraged to come and pay homage to those who have given their lives in the quest for knowledge through the exploration of space.  There is no charge for this event.  For more information contact: 

  • Gail Gilchrist
  • Flag and Memorial Committee Secretary
  • 321-567-3846

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home



Posted on: January 20, 2021

TitusvillePD in Focus Episode 3

Posted on: November 10, 2021
Mary Louise Acuff found safe


Posted on: January 2, 2022
Scam Alert


Posted on: November 24, 2021